Campus News

Varsity Basketball Wins I.A.C. Championship

Georgetown Prep's varsity basketball team beat Bullis 60-49 on February 20 to win the 2017-18 Interstate Athletic Conference (I.A.C.) championship.

In front of a standing room only crowd in Prep's Hanley Center and on the Michael M. Boland, Jr. Court, Prep and Bullis played evenly throughout the first half. The Hoyas led 31-30 at the half. In the second half, Prep played exceptional defense and outscored Bullis 29-19 en route to a 60-49 victory.

Prep forwards Ike Nweke '18 and DeJean Desire '19 scored 13 points apiece while guards Jared Bynum '18 and Kamdyn Curfman '19 added 12 and 11 points, respectively.

Read The Washington Post's full recap of the championship game.

Prep secured the I.A.C. regular season title on February 9 with a 65-63 win over St. Stephen's & St. Agnes to finish the season with an 8-2 regular league record. Prep concludes the season with a 20-5 overall record and is currently ranked #7 in the Washington, D.C., area by The Washington Post.

Photo: Gary Wang '21

Powered by Finalsite